Archive for Month: July 2015

Thanks for a great year Phil. You will be a hard…

Thanks for a great year Phil. You will be a hard act to follow. We have achieved a lot, including the citation…

President Ian

ianOur new President Ian Calderbank wishes everyone in the International family of Rotary a very happy New Rotary Year.

President Ian, his incoming team, and all the members of the Rotary Club of Banbury have pledged themselves to “Be a Gift to the World”.

Ian said “Our Club will continue providing support to those locally, nationally, and internationally who are in need of help, and at the same time have fun and enjoy the fellowship of being part of such a wonderful international family of Rotarians.  I wish each and every one of you a very happy and successful New Rotary Year.”

Gala Mid-Summer Evening Concert


As a result of the success of our Gala Mid-Summer Evening Concert we will be donating £2,500 to Katharine House Hospice.

This year celebrates 25 years of running the Banbury Young Musician of the Year Competition under the expert guiding hand of Rtn. Gareth Jeremy, who has undertaken this task with the impressive enthusiasm and commitment that we have come to expect from him.

Thanks to the great success of the event, our Club has benefitted from some great publicity in producing winners that have moved on to great things in the world of music.

To celebrate these achievements, Gareth organised a Gala Mid-Summer Evening Concert held at Tudor Hall School on Sunday 21st June.

Past Young Musician of the Year winners who are now professional or semi-professional musicians entertained us with a potpourri of musical genres from the avant-garde to classical in recognition of the role that the Young Musician Competition has played in their musical career.

Performances were given by:

  • Marcel Zidani – winner in 1991
  • Bethany Porter – winner in 2000
  • Lucy Downer – winner in 2003
  • Kris Reader – winner in 2004
  • Umito Choji – winner in 2007
  • William Dibble – runner up in 2012 District 1090 Competition
  • Tavia Lewis – winner in 2015